top of page

The End of the Road

After two years in the Independent Study and Mentorship Program, I've learned so much. Since that time is coming to an end, I want to reflect on my ISM journey.

After graduation, I'll be leaving for Texas A&M in the fall, and I credit ISM for helping me get into such a great college. The experience and opportunity it has given me in the past two years is unparalleled. If I hadn't taken ISM, I can assure you that I would not be anywhere near where I am now in my writing journey. ISM helped me discover my passion for writing children's media that educates readers about mental health, my passion for writing poetry, and my own personal writing style. All of these would have been a pain to learn in college, and an expensive one at that. ISM allowed me to learn these things in a safe environment.


I also have had the amazing opportunity to get a mentor, which has led to many great things. My amazing mentor, Vicky Skinner, has taught me so much. Thanks to her, I have a summer job that gives me experience in the writing arena. This summer I'll be working at Write On, and I owe it all to ISM and my mentor!


ISM has been such an amazing experience, and I wouldn't change my ISM journey for everything. I'm so thankful for this class and Coach Goff's leadership!

Screen Shot 2021-08-30 at 9.33.15 AM.png

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Connect with my linkedin or subscribe to be notified when I post a new blog. 

Let the posts
come to you.

  • LinkedIn
bottom of page