top of page

Making Connections

How I was able to connect with professionals across DFW through the ISM program.


sea waves GIF

Last week, I had the wonderful opportunity to attend the Independent Study and Mentorship Program's Business Symposium. This is a once-a-year event in which ISM students across the district are able to gather at a single high school and attend panels from business professionals. These professionals vary in fields, but all gave valuable advice that can be applied to tons of different careers. Today, I'm going to share with you all the most important things that I learned.


Set Intention


Every panel I attended reiterated the importance of setting intention in your life as well as your professional field. Dr. Brad Bellard, our guest speaker, told us that the clarity of your vision is far more important than the calculation of how to get there. If you are not clear on where you want to end up, you won't end up there. Take time to figure out what you want to be in life, and the path will reveal itself.


Relationships Are Required for Results

What you lack in skill, you make up for in relationships. There is no way to make an impact alone. Dr. Brad Bellard greatly emphasized this. Making relationships that are valuable is all about being kind and taking initiative. Make the calls. Send the emails. Nobody cares as much about your vision as you do, so take that first step of connecting with others. The people you decide to connect with is important as well- surround yourself with those that will get the best out of you.


My Connections


This advice did not go to waste, and I was able to connect with various professionals during this symposium. All it took was a handshake and a smile. Now, I have interviews schedules with a couple of these professionals, and I am extremely excited to meet with them and keep my vision going.



Screen Shot 2021-08-30 at 9.33.15 AM.png

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Connect with my linkedin or subscribe to be notified when I post a new blog. 

Let the posts
come to you.

  • LinkedIn
bottom of page