top of page

Advocating For Myself

How I am learning to advocate for myself within the publishing world as well as in my own mind.


Throughout my research, I have been reminded of the importance of "selling myself" in order to get published and noticed in the writing world. Learning how to market through various mediums has been a fun and interesting challenge that I have thoroughly enjoyed throughout my time in ISM.


My favorite part of marketing is- big surprise- the social media aspect. My generation (me included) is the most social-media driven generation out there. Instead of using tiktok and instagram to set me back and distract me, I plan on using them to further my book. I can run accounts like businesses in order to bring an audience in. I love the idea of getting past the initial bias against social media and instead using it to bring in people to my network and audience.


Other than advocating for myself in marketing, I have been learning how to advocate for myself in my own head. Many times I have sabotaged myself through my own mental blockage. Learning how to combat this has been an unexpected yet extremely beneficial part of my ISM journey. I am breaking down barriers in my brain and paving a new mental road for myself.


Thanks to my book, I am learning essential skills that will directly translate into the professional world in college and the labor force. I'm extremely thankful for the skills I have and continue to develop.

Screen Shot 2021-08-30 at 9.33.15 AM.png

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Connect with my linkedin or subscribe to be notified when I post a new blog. 

Let the posts
come to you.

  • LinkedIn
bottom of page